How do I clear my browser cache?

 
 Explanation
Internet Browsers store part of the information they load from the pages they've visited to accelerate navigation and to avoid loading and reloading the same content over and over.

This temporary content backup of visited web pages is called the browser's "cache". The "cache" contains text, images, files, the CSS and various scripts. Cookies also store certain information, like menus, category headers, system texts, etc.

When you change an image in your image gallery, a text in a WebBlock or your Site Design, our software performs these changes on the server immediately. New visitors will see your site with the latest updates.

However, since you often visit the same page during your work, your browser can think it has already loaded those elements on your hard disk and won't ask our server for the latest version.

If the latest modifications are not displayed on the page, you should empty your browser's cache and cookies to see the changes.

 
 Empty Mozilla Firefox 11's Cache

Simply pressing [F5], which refreshes the current page, is often enough to force the browser to reload all of the current page's elements.

In some cases, you may have to delete cookies as well. - See the chapter: "Note: Actinic Cache". This methode will generally oblige you to log in to your Admin Console again.

- Mozilla Firefox (since version 4)
  • At the top of the Firefox window, click on the Firefox button (Tools menu in Windows XP) and then click Options


  • Select the Advanced panel.
  • Click on the Network tab.
  • In the Cached Web Content section, click "Clear Now"


  • Click OK to close the Options window.

Automatically clear the cache
You can set Firefox to automatically clear the cache when Firefox closes:
  • At the top of the Firefox window, click on the Firefox button (Tools menu in Windows XP) and then click Options
  • Select the Privacy panel.


  • In the History section, set Firefox will: to Use custom settings for history.
  • Select the check box for Clear history when Firefox closes.
  • Beside Clear history when Firefox closes, click the Settings... button. The Settings for Clearing History window will open.


  • In the Settings for Clearing History window, click the check mark box next to Cache.
  • Click OK to close the Settings for Clearing History window.
  • Click OK to close the Options window.
 
 Empty Internet Explorer's cache (version 9)

In the upper right hand corner of the browser, click the icon that looks like a small gear which is the "Tools" button.
  • Click the "Internet Options" link.


  • Under the "General" tab, in the "Browsing History" section, click on the "Delete" button.


  • In the new window that opens, place a check mark in the boxes for the data that you wish to delete. At this point, you select the type of data you want to clear.
    Note: we recommend you read the descriptions before selecting.
  • After selecting the data you want to remove, press the "delete" button.


  • Click the "ok" button on the window opened in step 4 above. You should see a notice at the bottom of the page stating that the selected browsing history has been cleared.
 
 Note: Actinic Cache
To reduce database queries, the Actinic system also has its cache to store certain information in browser cookies.
Examples of Actinic cache in use:
  • Menu elements and rewritten URLs:
    The site's navigational tree structure is saved in cookies when the first page of the site is displayed. Generally, this information is reloaded when you are working on menu elements. Under some circumstances however, like when you are working with rewritten URLs, you may not see your modifications display even after refreshing the page. This is because rewritten URLs only work on your live site and not in the preview mode of your Admin Console. When working with rewritten URLs you'll need to use a second browser window for testing.

  • Category headers:
    Changing a header or defining category properties also require emptying cookies to be viewed.

  • "Use one of your custom site designs" link.
    This Admin Console link, "Use one of your custom site designs" doesn't display automtically in the [Site\Site Design\Modify] menu, after you've created your first custom site design.
Two solutions for these problems are:
  • To completely close the browser (all windows) and restart it.

    or

  • To use the preceding method of clearing the cache and checking the "delete cookies" option.
 
 

Add to favorites: http://www.actinic.co.uk/Help/HelpCenterContent.asp?ActionID=1024&TID=55150&MID=17001&LangID=1
© 2001-2018 Actinic. All rights reserved.